06-24-2018  1:31 pm      •     
The Skanner Report
Monica Wehby
By Helen Silvis | The Skanner News
Published: 21 May 2014

The election night party for Monica Wehby, Republican U.S. Senate candidate, was held in Oregon City Tuesday May 20, 2014. Here she hugs her children, who chose Cake's "Short Skirt Long Jacket" as her walk-in song. Wehby will face Democratic incumbent Jeff Merkley. (AP Photo/Steve Dykes)

Results of Oregon’s May 20 election are in, although they are not yet official. The election finalized November matchups for Oregon’s governor and senator.  Voters also decided races at Multnomah County Commission and  Portland City Council.


Republicans selected State Rep. Dennis Richardson to run against the Democrat’s Gov. John Kitzhaber in the governor’s race.  Richardson easily won the nomination with 66 percent of the vote. If Kitzhaber is elected he will be the first governor to be elected to a fourth term.

Oregon Senator

Republicans also picked Portland doctor Monica Wehby to run for Senate in November. Wehby goes up against Democratic Sen. Jeff Merkley, who  easily won his primary with more than 95 percent of the vote.

Wehby defeated her nearest rival Oregon Rep. Jason Conger by more than 3,000 votes. She had 54 percent of the Republican vote to Conger’s 35 percent.  That’s despite revelations last week, that two former partners had called police to lodge stalking complaints against her during relationship break-ups.

Oregon Representatives

Rep. Suzanne Bonamici stood unopposed to win the Democratic nomination for House District 1. Her Republican opponent will be either Jason Yates or Delinda Delgado Morgan who are still battling it out in a race to close to call.

Rep. Greg Walden easily won the Republican nomination for House District 2. Democrats nominated Aelea Christofferson to run against Walden in November.

Rep. Earl Blumenauer, a  Democrat, will run against Republican James Buchal in November to represent House District 3.

Rep. Pete DeFazio, Democrat, will face Republican Art Robinson to represent House District 4.

Republican Tootie Smith will take on Democrat Rep. Kurt Schrader to represent House District 5. 

Proposed Water District

Voters defeated a move to wrest control of Portland’s water away from Portland City Commissioners by creating a separate water district. Measure 26-156, was defeated by a large margin with 72 percent voting to leave the City of Portland’s water bureau in charge of its water.

State Labor Commissioner

Brad Avakian was reelected as Oregon’s labor commissioner with more than 97 percent of the vote.

Multnomah County

Deborah Kafoury was elected county chair with more than 65 percent of the vote. Her nearest rival former city commissioner Jim Francesconi took close to 18 percent.  The election settled both the remainder of the current term –vacant because of Jeff Cogen’s early resignation –and the upcoming four-year term. Kafoury will now serve as county chair for both terms.

Jules Koppel Bailey won election as Commissioner for District 1. He won 72 percent of the vote, compared to opponent Brian Wilson’s 27 percent.

Commissioner Loretta Smith won reelection as Commissioner for District 2. She had 76 percent of the vote. Her closest rivals were Bruce Broussard with 12 percent and Teressa Raiford with 6 percent.

Steve March, standing unopposed, was elected county auditor with more than 98 percent of the vote.

Dan Staton, standing unopposed,was elected Multnomah County Sheriff with 97 percent of the vote.


City of Portland

Nick Fish was re-elected as City Commissioner Position 2 with almost 73 percent of the vote. Rival Sharon Maxwell took 18 percent.

Dan Saltzman was re-elected as City Commissioner Position 3 with 64 percent of the vote, compared to nearest rival Nick Caleb’s 18 percent.

Mary Hull Caballero was elected unopposed as Portland’s auditor.

METRO Council

Tom Hughes was re-elected as METRO Council president with almost 80 percent of the vote.

Shirley R Craddick, Kathryn Harrington and Carlotta Collette were elected as METRO councilors. Both ran unopposed.

Brian Evans was elected as METRO’s auditor. He ran unopposed.


A 5-year levy, to finance Gresham police, parks and firefighters, Measure 26-157, remains to close to call but the No vote is ahead by 200 votes at latest count. Mayor Shane Bemis has lobbied heavily for the measure and planned his budget around it.


Across the State

Beaverton passed a school bond. Corbett rejected its proposed school bond. Tualatin passed a fire measure.


Oregon Legislature

Rob Nosse won the Democratic nomination for House District 42, with 49 percent of the vote compared to nearest rival Teddy Keizer’s 36 percent.

House speaker Tina Kotek won the Democratic nomination to House District 44.

Barbara Smith-Warner and former Gresham police chief Carla Piluso also won Democratic nominations to the Oregon House.

Reps.  Lew Frederick,  Alissa Keny-Guyer, Jessica Vega Pederson, Jeff Reardon,  Chris Gorsek,  Shemia Fagan and Stephanie Nystrom all ran unopposed and won their nominations to the Oregon House.


Find out all the final election results here.


Recently Published by The Skanner News

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random
load morehold SHIFT key to load allload all
Oregon Lottery
Portland Community Policing

Photo Gallery

Photos and slide shows of local events

Lents International Farmers Market
The Skanner Report

The Skanner Foundation Scholarships