The Skanner News - USA http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa Mon, 27 Apr 2015 22:05:30 -0700 MYOB en-gb info@theskanner.com (The Skanner News) No Time To Lose: Global Response To Nepal Quake Gears Up http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22645-no-time-to-lose-global-response-to-nepal-quake-gears-up http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22645-no-time-to-lose-global-response-to-nepal-quake-gears-up Rescuers scramble to save lives after the largest earhquake Nepal has seen in 80 years   

]]>
helen@theskanner.com (Gregory Katz, Associated Press) USA Sun, 26 Apr 2015 19:37:49 -0700
In Baltimore Grief and Fury Over Freddie Gray’s Death http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22644-in-baltimore-grief-and-fury-over-freddie-gray-s-death http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22644-in-baltimore-grief-and-fury-over-freddie-gray-s-death A wake was held Sunday night for Freddie Gray, 25, who died after his neck was broken during an arrest   

]]>
helen@theskanner.com (Jessica Gresko, Tom Foreman, Associated Press) USA Sun, 26 Apr 2015 19:19:11 -0700
Correspondents' Dinner Mixes Up Big Names In Media, Politics http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22642-correspondents-dinner-mixes-up-big-names-in-media-politics http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22642-correspondents-dinner-mixes-up-big-names-in-media-politics White House Correspondents' Association dinner has become a celebrity magnet  

]]>
USA Sun, 26 Apr 2015 10:51:26 -0700
Will Hawaii be 1st State To Raise Smoking Age To 21? http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22641-will-hawaii-be-1st-state-to-raise-smoking-age-to-21 http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22641-will-hawaii-be-1st-state-to-raise-smoking-age-to-21 Opponents say it's unfair to military veterans who smoke   

]]>
USA Sat, 25 Apr 2015 07:58:37 -0700
Lynch to be Sworn in as Attorney General on Monday http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22640-lynch-to-be-sworn-in-as-attorney-general-on-monday http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22640-lynch-to-be-sworn-in-as-attorney-general-on-monday  The Senate confirmation of Lynch, 55, makes her the first African-American woman to hold the position   

]]>
USA Fri, 24 Apr 2015 20:20:24 -0700
Rough Ride? Lawyer Says Fatally Injured Arrestee Lacked Belt http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22639-rough-ride-lawyer-says-fatally-injured-arrestee-lacked-belt http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22639-rough-ride-lawyer-says-fatally-injured-arrestee-lacked-belt Hundreds of protesters converged on Baltimore City Hall Thursday  

]]>
USA Fri, 24 Apr 2015 06:26:37 -0700
Jeb Bush Fundraising Plan Seeks Unlimited Campaign Cash
 http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22635-jeb-bush-fundraising-plan-seeks-unlimited-campaign-cash http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22635-jeb-bush-fundraising-plan-seeks-unlimited-campaign-cash By using a super PAC Bush can avoid campaign finance limits  

]]>
USA Wed, 22 Apr 2015 23:34:00 -0700
GOP White House Hopefuls Bicker Over America's Role In World http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22625-gop-white-house-hopefuls-bicker-over-america-s-role-in-world http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22625-gop-white-house-hopefuls-bicker-over-america-s-role-in-world When should we use military to enforce US goals?  

]]>
USA Tue, 21 Apr 2015 06:21:03 -0700
Students Opting Out of Common Core Testing http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22621-students-opting-out-of-common-core-testing http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22621-students-opting-out-of-common-core-testing Some lawmakers, sensing a tipping point, are backing the parents and teachers who complain about 'high stakes' tests   

]]>
USA Sun, 19 Apr 2015 07:31:19 -0700
Veterans Health Care Threatened by Privatization http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22620-veterans-health-care-threatened-by-privatization http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22620-veterans-health-care-threatened-by-privatization Watch Rachel Maddow interview VA Secretary Robert McDonald  

]]>
USA Sat, 18 Apr 2015 11:21:40 -0700
Christie Proposes Raising Age for Social Security Benefits http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22596-christie-proposes-raising-age-for-social-security-benefits http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22596-christie-proposes-raising-age-for-social-security-benefits Republican presidential hopeful Chris Christie also wants to cut benefits for wealthier seniors  

]]>
USA Wed, 15 Apr 2015 14:21:35 -0700
President Obama and First Lady Host Gospel Greats http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22595-president-obama-and-first-lady-host-gospel-greats http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22595-president-obama-and-first-lady-host-gospel-greats T Bone Burnett and Aretha Franklin entertained President Obama and the First Lady at a White House gospel evening Tuesday  

]]>
USA Wed, 15 Apr 2015 14:02:17 -0700
Soul Music Superstar Percy Sledge Dies http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22593-soul-music-superstar-percy-sledge-dies http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22593-soul-music-superstar-percy-sledge-dies The artist sang 'When A Man Loves a Woman,’ for many the definitive soul ballad 

]]>
USA Tue, 14 Apr 2015 17:24:39 -0700
Black Women Face Challenges in Building Wealth http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22591-black-women-face-challenges-in-building-wealth http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22591-black-women-face-challenges-in-building-wealth 1 in 4 Black women over the age of 65 who receives Social Security benefits rely on it as their only source of income  

]]>
USA Mon, 13 Apr 2015 20:44:07 -0700
Republicans Unite to Attack Hillary Clinton http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22587-republicans-unite-to-attack-hillary-clinton http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22587-republicans-unite-to-attack-hillary-clinton GOP presidential rivals agree on one thing -- Hillary Clinton

]]>
USA Mon, 13 Apr 2015 11:48:19 -0700