The Skanner News - USA http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa Sun, 14 Feb 2016 10:42:40 -0800 MYOB en-gb info@theskanner.com (The Skanner News) Presidential Contenders Battle Over Minority Voters in SC http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23553-presidential-contenders-battle-over-minority-voters-in-sc http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23553-presidential-contenders-battle-over-minority-voters-in-sc Video: Ta-Nehisi Coates says he is voting for Sanders   

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (SEANNA ADCOX, KATHLEEN HENNESSEY, Associated Press) USA Sat, 13 Feb 2016 13:31:49 -0800
After Flint Disaster Will Michigan GOP Finally Send Help to Cities http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23552-after-flint-disaster-will-michigan-gop-finally-send-help-to-cities http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23552-after-flint-disaster-will-michigan-gop-finally-send-help-to-cities Video: As Congress starts hearings Sheila Jackson Lee seeks charges   

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (DAVID EGGERT, Associated Press) USA Sat, 13 Feb 2016 13:13:41 -0800
VIDEO: Washington, D.C. Police are Using Body Cameras http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23550-video-washington-d-c-police-are-using-body-cameras http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23550-video-washington-d-c-police-are-using-body-cameras Howard University News Service reporter Rachel Sudduth looks at the plan  

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (By Rachel Sudduth, Howard University News Service) USA Sat, 13 Feb 2016 11:42:03 -0800
Fleeing Violence 35,000 Syrians Mass at Turkish Border http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23535-fleeing-violence-35000-syrians-mass-at-turkish-border http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23535-fleeing-violence-35000-syrians-mass-at-turkish-border Fleeing Assad's armies, Russian bombs, ISIS and starvation Syrian families plead for help   

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (KARIN LAUB, SUZAN FRASER, Associated Press) USA Sun, 07 Feb 2016 13:32:10 -0800
After Shooting Black Teen Chicago Officer Sues His Estate http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23534-after-shooting-black-teen-chicago-officer-sues-estate http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23534-after-shooting-black-teen-chicago-officer-sues-estate Quintonio LeGrier's father says 19-year-old college student was unarmed and not a threat   

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (MICHAEL TARM, JASON KEYSER, Associated Press) USA Sun, 07 Feb 2016 10:26:10 -0800
Facing Loss in New Hampshire Clinton Looks Ahead http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23531-facing-loss-in-new-hampshire-clinton-looks-ahead http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23531-facing-loss-in-new-hampshire-clinton-looks-ahead Clinton looks to Nevada and South Carolina to counter Sanders   

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (LISA LERER, KEN THOMAS, Associated Press) USA Sun, 07 Feb 2016 08:53:14 -0800
GOP Presidential Hopefuls Turn Fire on Rubio and Cruz http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23530-gop-presidential-hopefuls-turn-fire-on-rubio-and-cruz http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23530-gop-presidential-hopefuls-turn-fire-on-rubio-and-cruz Trump escapes scrutiny as rivals turn on Iowa winner Cruz and rising star Rubio  

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (JULIE PACE, JULIE BYKOWICZ, Associated Press) USA Sun, 07 Feb 2016 08:28:59 -0800
Turnout Will Be Key Monday in Iowa Caucuses http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23521-turnout-will-be-key-monday-in-iowa-caucuses http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23521-turnout-will-be-key-monday-in-iowa-caucuses Trump, Cruz and Rubio top Republican polls; Clinton and Sanders tied for Democrats  

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (KEN THOMAS, SCOTT BAUER, Associated Press) USA Sun, 31 Jan 2016 17:33:23 -0800
A State-by-State Look at Federal Food Aid Work Waivers 
 http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23519-a-state-by-state-look-at-federal-food-aid-work-waivers http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23519-a-state-by-state-look-at-federal-food-aid-work-waivers How many people are due to lose SNAP benefits if they don't find work  

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (The Associated Press) USA Sat, 30 Jan 2016 18:18:59 -0800
Is Social Media Making a 'Generation Cheat' http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23517-is-social-media-making-a-generation-cheat http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23517-is-social-media-making-a-generation-cheat Cheating has been on the rise for the past decade    

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (By Ashley Young, Howard University News Service) USA Sat, 30 Jan 2016 17:45:14 -0800
Flint: Lawsuit Demands New Pipes to Remove Lead Water http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23510-flint-lawsuit-demands-new-pipes-to-remove-lead-water http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23510-flint-lawsuit-demands-new-pipes-to-remove-lead-water Children exposed to lead for a year and a half    

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (DAVID EGGERT, MIKE HOUSEHOLDER, Associated Press) USA Wed, 27 Jan 2016 21:05:16 -0800
Billionaire Donors Lift Cruz in GOP Presidential Bid http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23506-billionaire-donors-lift-cruz-in-gop-presidential-bid http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23506-billionaire-donors-lift-cruz-in-gop-presidential-bid Two natural gas and two finance sector billionaires give Cruz $35 million    

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (JULIE BYKOWICZ, Associated Press) USA Sun, 24 Jan 2016 17:43:25 -0800
Cosby Wants Case Thrown Out; Prosecutors Say No http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23505-cosby-wants-case-thrown-out-prosecutors-say-no http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23505-cosby-wants-case-thrown-out-prosecutors-say-no Prosecutors call Cosby's motion to dismiss a bid for special treatment  

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (MARYCLAIRE DALE, Associated Press) USA Sun, 24 Jan 2016 15:26:50 -0800
Democrats Fear 2016 Presidential Election Campaign Will Damage Party http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23504-democrats-fear-2016-presidential-election-campaign-will-damage-party http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23504-democrats-fear-2016-presidential-election-campaign-will-damage-party As primaries near the campaigns get serious, insider worry about intensifying attacks    

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (LISA LERER, KEN THOMAS, Associated Press) USA Sun, 24 Jan 2016 14:45:52 -0800
Factchecking the Democratic Presidential Candidates http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23493-factchecking-the-democratic-presidential-candidates-2 http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/23493-factchecking-the-democratic-presidential-candidates-2 A look at some of the claims and how they compare with the facts  

]]>
jim@marketingportland.com (CALVIN WOODWARD, Associated Press) USA Mon, 18 Jan 2016 07:25:07 -0800