The Skanner Newspaper - USA http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa Sun, 01 Feb 2015 14:36:37 -0800 MYOB en-gb info@theskanner.com (The Skanner Newspaper) Langston Hughes Honored with Google Doodle http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22350-langston-hughes-honored-with-google-doodle http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22350-langston-hughes-honored-with-google-doodle American poet, novelist and playwright Langston Hughes has been commemorated in a Google Doodle  

]]>
arashi@theskanner.com (Arashi Young of The Skanner News) USA Fri, 30 Jan 2015 20:39:21 -0800
Senators Grapple With How Much Students Should Be Tested http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22331-senators-grapple-with-how-much-students-should-be-tested http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22331-senators-grapple-with-how-much-students-should-be-tested  Overdue updates in the works to Bush's 'No Child Left Behind' education law   

]]>
USA Mon, 26 Jan 2015 17:50:18 -0800
Obama Proposes Publicly Funded Community College for All http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22292-obama-proposes-publicly-funded-community-college-for-all http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22292-obama-proposes-publicly-funded-community-college-for-all The president, who plans to push the issue in his Jan. 20 State of the Union address, argued that providing educational opportunity and creating a more skilled U.S. workforce shouldn't be a partisan issue

 

]]>
lisa@theskanner.com (Nedra Pickler, Associated Press) USA Fri, 09 Jan 2015 21:11:36 -0800
Scalise Gets Backing of GOP in Supremacist Flap http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22268-scalise-gets-backing-of-gop-in-supremacist-flap http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22268-scalise-gets-backing-of-gop-in-supremacist-flap Lawmaker says he regrets appealing to hate group   

]]>
USA Mon, 05 Jan 2015 17:21:26 -0800
Police Departments on Alert After Cop Killings http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22246-police-departments-on-alert-after-cop-killings http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22246-police-departments-on-alert-after-cop-killings Police departments and union leaders are warning police to wear bulletproof vests and avoid making inflammatory posts on social media after a man shot two officers to death   

]]>
USA Mon, 22 Dec 2014 18:19:23 -0800
Obama: US Re-Establishing Relations with Cuba http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22232-obama-us-re-establishing-relations-with-cuba http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22232-obama-us-re-establishing-relations-with-cuba However, he cannot unilaterally end the longstanding U.S. economic embargo on Cuba, which was passed by Congress and would require action from lawmakers to overturn

 

]]>
USA Wed, 17 Dec 2014 18:13:41 -0800
Thousands Protest Police Slayings of Black Men http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22227-thousands-protest-police-slayings-of-black-men http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22227-thousands-protest-police-slayings-of-black-men The march in Washington coincided with demonstrations across the country, from iconic Fifth Avenue in New York to the streets of San Francisco and the steps of the Boston Statehouse

 

]]>
USA Mon, 15 Dec 2014 16:31:43 -0800
AT&T Faces $10 Billion Race Discrimination Suit http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22215-at-t-faces-10-billion-race-discrimination-suit http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22215-at-t-faces-10-billion-race-discrimination-suit Suit alleges violations of Civil Rights Act of 1866   

]]>
USA Thu, 11 Dec 2014 21:49:37 -0800
Obama Confronts Bush Legacy with Torture Report http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22211-obama-confronts-bush-legacy-with-torture-report http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22211-obama-confronts-bush-legacy-with-torture-report While Obama banned waterboarding and other tactics upon taking office, his administration struggled for years with how to publicly reveal the scope of the program

 

]]>
USA Wed, 10 Dec 2014 21:37:26 -0800
Second Night of Berkeley Protests Turns Violent http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22200-second-night-of-berkeley-protests-turns-violent http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22200-second-night-of-berkeley-protests-turns-violent One protester was injured when he was assaulted with a hammer when he attempted to keep other protesters from looting a downtown electronics store

 

]]>
USA Mon, 08 Dec 2014 16:37:09 -0800
McDonald's Plans Innovations as US Sales Fall http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22199-mcdonald-s-plans-customized-burgers-as-us-sales-fall http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22199-mcdonald-s-plans-customized-burgers-as-us-sales-fall Experts note the growing demand for customized orders, and that people are showing greater concern for the ingredients in their food  

 

 

]]>
USA Mon, 08 Dec 2014 16:17:59 -0800
Lawyer: No Indictment for Officer in NYC Chokehold Death http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22187-lawyer-no-indictment-for-officer-in-nyc-chokehold-death http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22187-lawyer-no-indictment-for-officer-in-nyc-chokehold-death The decision in Staten Island not to indict threatened to add to the tensions that have simmered in the city since the July 17 death of Eric Garner

 

]]>
USA Wed, 03 Dec 2014 20:17:02 -0800
Michael Brown's Stepdad Investigated for Comments http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22184-michael-brown-s-stepdad-investigated-for-comments http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22184-michael-brown-s-stepdad-investigated-for-comments Louis Head has not yet been interviewed by police, and officials say there is no timetable for when the investigation will be complete

 

]]>
USA Wed, 03 Dec 2014 18:05:07 -0800
Obama Wants to Avoid 'Militarized' Police Culture http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22181-obama-wants-to-avoid-militarized-police-culture http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22181-obama-wants-to-avoid-militarized-police-culture He asked Congress for funding to buy 50,000 body cameras to record events like the shooting death of an unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown

 

 

]]>
USA Tue, 02 Dec 2014 18:18:56 -0800
Ashton Carter is Obama's Likely Pentagon Pick http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22180-ashton-carter-is-obama-s-likely-pentagon-pick http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22180-ashton-carter-is-obama-s-likely-pentagon-pick Officials said Obama had not made a final decision on the matter, but Carter had emerged as the top candidate

 

]]>
USA Tue, 02 Dec 2014 17:50:29 -0800