The Skanner Newspaper - USA http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa Wed, 26 Nov 2014 12:03:44 -0800 MYOB en-gb info@theskanner.com (The Skanner Newspaper) Ferguson Businesses Torched in Overnight Protests http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22166-ferguson-businesses-torched-in-overnight-protests http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22166-ferguson-businesses-torched-in-overnight-protests

Violence broke out after a Grand Jury refused to indict a police officer who fatally shot an unarmed teenager -- read the court documents here  

]]>
lisa@theskanner.com (Jim Salter, David A. Lieb, Associated Press) USA Tue, 25 Nov 2014 17:46:16 -0800
For-Profit Prison Companies Foster ‘Treatment Industrial Complex’ http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22159-for-profit-prison-companies-foster-treatment-industrial-complex http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22159-for-profit-prison-companies-foster-treatment-industrial-complex Cash strapped governments shift resouces from incarceration   

]]>
USA Mon, 24 Nov 2014 18:15:58 -0800
Uncertainty Fuels Speculation on Ferguson Decision http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22158-uncertainty-fuels-speculation-on-ferguson-decision http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22158-uncertainty-fuels-speculation-on-ferguson-decision Nation awaits grand jury's word on indicting officer   

]]>
USA Mon, 24 Nov 2014 17:56:37 -0800
Marion Barry, D.C.’s ‘Mayor for Life,’ Dead at 78 http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22157-marion-barry-d-c-s-mayor-for-life-dead-at-78 http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22157-marion-barry-d-c-s-mayor-for-life-dead-at-78 Beloved politician remembered for commitment to community  

]]>
USA Mon, 24 Nov 2014 17:43:41 -0800
Gun Sales Surge Ahead of Jury's Ferguson Decision http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22137-gun-sales-surge-ahead-of-jury-s-ferguson-decision http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22137-gun-sales-surge-ahead-of-jury-s-ferguson-decision Dealers say their sales spikes are comparable to the increases seen soon after Brown's death on Aug. 9

 

]]>
USA Wed, 19 Nov 2014 16:47:31 -0800
Nebraska Hospital: Surgeon with Ebola has Died http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22130-nebraska-hospital-surgeon-with-ebola-has-died http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22130-nebraska-hospital-surgeon-with-ebola-has-died Of 10 people to be treated for the disease in the United States, only two have died: Dr. Martin Salia and Thomas Eric Duncan

 

]]>
USA Mon, 17 Nov 2014 19:23:15 -0800
Mike Brown’s Parents Testify to United Nations Panel http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22127-mike-brown-s-parents-testify-to-united-nations-panel http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22127-mike-brown-s-parents-testify-to-united-nations-panel Lesley McSpadden and Michael Brown Sr. spoke to an anti-torture panel in Geneva   

]]>
USA Thu, 13 Nov 2014 19:31:31 -0800
Obama Signs Historic Climate Agreement with China http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22110-obama-signs-historic-climate-change-agreement-with-china http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22110-obama-signs-historic-climate-change-agreement-with-china With the clock ticking on a worldwide climate treaty, the two countries are seeking to put their troubled history as environmental adversaries behind them 

]]>
USA Wed, 12 Nov 2014 18:00:53 -0800
Feds to Create Wrongful Convictions Unit http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22105-feds-to-create-wrongful-convictions-unit http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22105-feds-to-create-wrongful-convictions-unit U.S. Attorneys have created a Convictions Integrity Unit to re-evaluate felony cases   

]]>
USA Tue, 11 Nov 2014 17:13:37 -0800
VA Vows to Focus On Customer Service http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22100-va-vows-to-focus-on-customer-service http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22100-va-vows-to-focus-on-customer-service VA Secretary Robert McDonald says the reorganization will make it easier for veterans to find services   

]]>
USA Mon, 10 Nov 2014 19:24:08 -0800
The South: Solid Once Again -- for Republicans http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22099-the-south-solid-once-again-for-republicans http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22099-the-south-solid-once-again-for-republicans Republicans are poised to push conservative policies and resist the new healthcare law    

]]>
USA Mon, 10 Nov 2014 19:07:46 -0800
North Korea Frees Imprisoned Americans Ken Bae, Matt Miller http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22096-north-korea-frees-imprisoned-americans-ken-bae-matt-miller http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22096-north-korea-frees-imprisoned-americans-ken-bae-matt-miller President Obama: “a wonderful day for them and their families”   

]]>
USA Sat, 08 Nov 2014 18:43:58 -0800
What to Expect With Legal Marijuana http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22074-what-to-expect-with-legal-marijuana http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22074-what-to-expect-with-legal-marijuana Oregon, Alaska and Washington D.C. voted to legalize recreational marijuana Tuesday. Here is what they can expect based off Washington and Colorado  

]]>
USA Wed, 05 Nov 2014 19:38:48 -0800
ELECTION 2014: Republicans Take Control of Congress http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22070-election-2014-republicans-take-control-of-congress http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22070-election-2014-republicans-take-control-of-congress  With a majority in both the US House and Senate Republicans can set agenda and block President’s appointments     

]]>
USA Wed, 05 Nov 2014 15:56:11 -0800
America Votes: Here's What's at Stake in Midterms http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22069-america-votes-here-s-what-s-at-stake-in-midterms http://www.theskanner.com/news/usa/22069-america-votes-here-s-what-s-at-stake-in-midterms Control of the Senate could change putting Republicans in charge of national policy during Obamas final two years     

]]>
USA Tue, 04 Nov 2014 18:22:41 -0800