The Skanner Newspaper - Sports http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports Sun, 23 Nov 2014 11:48:37 -0800 MYOB en-gb info@theskanner.com (The Skanner Newspaper) NFL Suspends Peterson for at Least Rest of Season http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22136-nfl-suspends-peterson-for-at-least-rest-of-season http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22136-nfl-suspends-peterson-for-at-least-rest-of-season The running back beat his 4-year-old son with a switch until the child bled

 

]]>
lisa@theskanner.com (Dave Campbell, AP Pro Football Writer) Sports Tue, 18 Nov 2014 17:17:10 -0800
The Black Athlete: Hi, Mom! I Love You! http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22108-the-black-athlete-hi-mom-i-love-you http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22108-the-black-athlete-hi-mom-i-love-you Jeremy Maclin's foundation is helping student athletes in single-parent households   

]]>
Sports Tue, 11 Nov 2014 19:44:10 -0800
Pac-12 Division Leaders Oregon, ASU Face Big Tests http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22090-pac-12-division-leaders-oregon-asu-face-big-tests-the-associated-press http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22090-pac-12-division-leaders-oregon-asu-face-big-tests-the-associated-press Arizona faces Notre Dame; Oregon faces Utah   

]]>
Sports Thu, 06 Nov 2014 23:26:00 -0800
NFL Says Peterson Must Wait for Review Process http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22092-nfl-says-peterson-must-wait-for-review-process http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22092-nfl-says-peterson-must-wait-for-review-process If Adrian Peterson is allowed to return to the Minnesota Vikings this season, the reunion probably won't happen swiftly  

]]>
Sports Fri, 07 Nov 2014 17:33:37 -0800
Ray Rice Arrives for Appeal Hearing on Suspension http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22072-ray-rice-arrives-for-appeal-hearing http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22072-ray-rice-arrives-for-appeal-hearing Ray Rice arrived for his appeal hearing Wednesday morning at the offices of former U.S. District Judge Barbara S. Jones in New York

 

]]>
Sports Wed, 05 Nov 2014 17:32:10 -0800
The Black Athlete: LeBron James And American Hypocrisy http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22063-the-black-athlete-lebron-james-and-american-hypocrisy http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22063-the-black-athlete-lebron-james-and-american-hypocrisy White Cleveland fans burned LeBron's jerseys when he went to play for the Heat; now they love him again.....

]]>
Sports Mon, 03 Nov 2014 19:44:53 -0800
Seattle Seahawks Quarterback Russell Wilson: Not Black Enough? http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22041-seattle-seahawks-quarterback-russell-wilson-not-black-enough http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22041-seattle-seahawks-quarterback-russell-wilson-not-black-enough The Black Athlete: The 'not-black enough' slur is bullying that hurts us all   

]]>
Sports Tue, 28 Oct 2014 17:51:49 -0700
Portland Trailblazers Start Season on Solid Foundation http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22017-portland-trailblazers-start-season-on-solid-foundation http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22017-portland-trailblazers-start-season-on-solid-foundation The only two additions to the team are Chris Kaman and Steve Blake    

]]>
Sports Tue, 21 Oct 2014 17:25:02 -0700
The Black Athlete: NCAA Must Change System for Fairness Sake http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21979-the-black-athlete-ncaa-must-change-system-for-fairness-sake http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21979-the-black-athlete-ncaa-must-change-system-for-fairness-sake Omar Tyree says college athletes need more than a fake "free ride"    

]]>
Sports Tue, 14 Oct 2014 17:02:00 -0700
What's in Store for The Big Ten? http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21786-what-s-in-store-for-the-big-ten http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21786-what-s-in-store-for-the-big-ten A 13-person committee will choose four teams to compete for the national championship    

]]>
Sports Wed, 03 Sep 2014 20:22:14 -0700
Photos: Hood to Coast 2014 Runners Cross the Finish Line http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21747-photos-hood-to-coast-2014-runners-cross-the-finish-line http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21747-photos-hood-to-coast-2014-runners-cross-the-finish-line The race is known as the mother of all relays because it is the biggest in the world    

]]>
helen@theskanner.com (Helen Silvis) Sports Wed, 27 Aug 2014 16:31:50 -0700
LeBron James Goes Back to Cleveland Cavaliers http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21517-lebron-james-goes-back-to-cleveland-cavaliers http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21517-lebron-james-goes-back-to-cleveland-cavaliers Pull of home takes James back to Cleveland with a goal of winning trophy with the Cavaliers 

]]>
Sports Fri, 11 Jul 2014 18:04:30 -0700
President Obama Honors Seattle Seahawks at the White House http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21267-president-obama-honors-seattle-seahawks-at-the-white-house http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21267-president-obama-honors-seattle-seahawks-at-the-white-house President Obama welcomed the Seattle Seahawks to the White House Wednesday, in honor of their Super Bowl win this past season

]]>
Sports Thu, 22 May 2014 17:10:56 -0700
Seattle Sounders Will Play First Game at New 49ers Stadium http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21240-seattle-sounders-will-play-first-game-at-new-49ers-stadium http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21240-seattle-sounders-will-play-first-game-at-new-49ers-stadium The Pac-12 Conference is moving its league championship game to the San Francisco 49ers' new stadium in Santa Clara  

]]>
Sports Thu, 15 May 2014 18:37:01 -0700
Oregon State University Fires Coach Craig Robinson http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21188-oregon-state-university-fires-coach-craig-robinson http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/21188-oregon-state-university-fires-coach-craig-robinson Michelle Obama’s brother coached the OSU basketball team for six seasons without making the NCAA tournament

 

]]>
Sports Mon, 05 May 2014 17:38:23 -0700