The Skanner Newspaper - Sports http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports Sun, 01 Feb 2015 00:41:11 -0800 MYOB en-gb info@theskanner.com (The Skanner Newspaper) Businesses Stay Clear of Using Super Bowl Name http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22347-businesses-stay-clear-of-using-super-bowl-name http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22347-businesses-stay-clear-of-using-super-bowl-name Radio hosts are tripping over their tongues and signs are carefully worded to not referring to it as the Super Bowl, a trademarked name   

]]> Sports Fri, 30 Jan 2015 17:48:08 -0800 Celebrating Women in Sports http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22308-celebrating-women-in-sports http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22308-celebrating-women-in-sports From women sportscasters, to the high school girls basketball games of his youth, Omar Tyree celebrates women involved in sports in every way   

]]>
arashi@theskanner.com (Omar Tyree, The Black Athlete ) Sports Thu, 15 Jan 2015 17:48:15 -0800
The Ducks Fall in What May Be Mariota's Last Game http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22301-the-ducks-fall-in-what-may-be-mariota-s-last-game http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22301-the-ducks-fall-in-what-may-be-mariota-s-last-game The Buckeyes overpowered the Ducks for a 42-20 victory in the first College Football Playoff championship

 

]]>
Sports Tue, 13 Jan 2015 17:23:53 -0800
College Playoff Championship Quarterback Will be Brown http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22263-college-playoff-championship-quarterback-will-be-brown http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22263-college-playoff-championship-quarterback-will-be-brown ‘I’m old enough to remember when African-American quarterbacks were still not considered smart enough to lead their teams to championships’  

]]>
Sports Mon, 29 Dec 2014 20:27:46 -0800
Mike Ditka, Charles Barkley and Cultural Awareness http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22248-mike-ditka-charles-barkley-and-cultural-awareness http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22248-mike-ditka-charles-barkley-and-cultural-awareness What I would like from Santa Claus this Christmas is a viable solution, which may include more social awareness, logic and sensitivity from the Mike Ditkas and Charles Barkleys of the world

]]>
Sports Mon, 22 Dec 2014 21:22:29 -0800
Mrs. Janay Rice Will Not Be Your Victim http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22236-mrs-janay-rice-will-not-be-your-victim http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22236-mrs-janay-rice-will-not-be-your-victim She admitted from the beginning that she and Ray had been very intoxicated on the evening of their quarrel in New Jersey, which led to both of them acting out

 

]]>
Sports Wed, 17 Dec 2014 21:49:23 -0800
Oregon QB Marcus Mariota Wins Heisman Trophy http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22228-oregon-qb-marcus-mariota-wins-heisman-trophy http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22228-oregon-qb-marcus-mariota-wins-heisman-trophy The junior quarterback became the Ducks' first Heisman winner Saturday night, capping a three-year climb to college football's most prestigious individual award 

 

 

]]>
Sports Mon, 15 Dec 2014 17:06:08 -0800
The Black Athlete http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22210-the-black-athlete http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22210-the-black-athlete The Fall of RG3   

]]>
Sports Wed, 10 Dec 2014 21:02:03 -0800
NFL Suspends Peterson for at Least Rest of Season http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22136-nfl-suspends-peterson-for-at-least-rest-of-season http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22136-nfl-suspends-peterson-for-at-least-rest-of-season The running back beat his 4-year-old son with a switch until the child bled

 

]]>
lisa@theskanner.com (Dave Campbell, AP Pro Football Writer) Sports Tue, 18 Nov 2014 17:17:10 -0800
The Black Athlete: Hi, Mom! I Love You! http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22108-the-black-athlete-hi-mom-i-love-you http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22108-the-black-athlete-hi-mom-i-love-you Jeremy Maclin's foundation is helping student athletes in single-parent households   

]]>
Sports Tue, 11 Nov 2014 19:44:10 -0800
Pac-12 Division Leaders Oregon, ASU Face Big Tests http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22090-pac-12-division-leaders-oregon-asu-face-big-tests-the-associated-press http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22090-pac-12-division-leaders-oregon-asu-face-big-tests-the-associated-press Arizona faces Notre Dame; Oregon faces Utah   

]]>
Sports Thu, 06 Nov 2014 23:26:00 -0800
NFL Says Peterson Must Wait for Review Process http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22092-nfl-says-peterson-must-wait-for-review-process http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22092-nfl-says-peterson-must-wait-for-review-process If Adrian Peterson is allowed to return to the Minnesota Vikings this season, the reunion probably won't happen swiftly  

]]>
Sports Fri, 07 Nov 2014 17:33:37 -0800
Ray Rice Arrives for Appeal Hearing on Suspension http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22072-ray-rice-arrives-for-appeal-hearing http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22072-ray-rice-arrives-for-appeal-hearing Ray Rice arrived for his appeal hearing Wednesday morning at the offices of former U.S. District Judge Barbara S. Jones in New York

 

]]>
Sports Wed, 05 Nov 2014 17:32:10 -0800
The Black Athlete: LeBron James And American Hypocrisy http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22063-the-black-athlete-lebron-james-and-american-hypocrisy http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22063-the-black-athlete-lebron-james-and-american-hypocrisy White Cleveland fans burned LeBron's jerseys when he went to play for the Heat; now they love him again.....

]]>
Sports Mon, 03 Nov 2014 19:44:53 -0800
Seattle Seahawks Quarterback Russell Wilson: Not Black Enough? http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22041-seattle-seahawks-quarterback-russell-wilson-not-black-enough http://www.theskanner.com/news/sports/22041-seattle-seahawks-quarterback-russell-wilson-not-black-enough The Black Athlete: The 'not-black enough' slur is bullying that hurts us all   

]]>
Sports Tue, 28 Oct 2014 17:51:49 -0700