04-25-2017  11:10 pm      •     
The Wake of Vanport

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) -- Myrlie Evers-Williams, former NAACP chairman and widow of a civil rights leader, will be named a National Freedom Award winner Thursday by the National Civil Rights Museum.
Her selection was confirmed Wednesday evening by museum director Gwen Harmon after it was first reported on the Web page of The Commercial Appeal newspaper.
Her late husband, Medgar Evers, was named Mississippi field secretary for the NAACP in 1954 and was killed by a sniper in 1963. Through her persistence, Byron De La Beckwith was finally convicted of the slaying in 1994.
In 1995, Evers-Williams was named chairman of the NAACP and served three years.
Harmon said two and possibly three other winners of the 18th annual Freedom Awards will be announced Thursday.
Evers-Williams lived in Oregon for many years before relocating to Tennesssee.

Recently Published by The Skanner News

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random
load morehold SHIFT key to load allload all
Oregon Lottery
Carpentry Professionals
The Armory Wild & Reckless

Photo Gallery

The Talented Ones

Lauren Weedman