10-19-2017  1:09 pm      •     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

U.S. & WORLD NEWS

OPINION

Black America’s Dreams of Homeownership Still Deferred

Charlene Crowell talks about Black homeownership and the need for financial justice in the Black community ...

On Dick Gregory's Birthday

Dr. Barbara Reynolds recalls Gregory's encouragement to write about 'the seen and the unseen' ...

Parents Deserve “Real” School Choice

Dr. Elizabeth Primas challenges Education Secretary Betsy DeVos on school choice. ...

The Fight to Protect Voting Rights Continues #StayWoke

Derrick Johnson, the interim president and CEO of the NAACP, talks about the fight to protect voting rights ...

AFRICAN AMERICANS IN THE NEWS

ENTERTAINMENT

By Donovan M. Smith | The Skanner News

Have you wondered about the recreational marijuana business in Oregon? Though the Oregon Liquor Control Commission and the Oregon Legislature are still working together to formulate the rules of distribution, The Skanner News has compiled some of the key things to know about getting into the industry.

 

How can I sell marijuana?

There are currently four types of licenses one can attain in order to legally sale marijuana: producer, processor, wholesaler and retail.

You can acquire as many of the four licenses through the Oregon Liquor Control Commission.

The OLCC will not open up applications until January 4, 2015 with a fee of $250.

Those awarded a license will need to pay a subsequent annual $1,000 operations fee.

How much of a cut will the state be taking from what I sell?

That’s yet to be determined. The House-Senate marijuana committee is currently considering House Bill 2041, which would replace the current $35-per-ounce tax with a blanket tax of 17 percent on all cannabis-related products. HB 2041 would also provide an optional 3 percent tax localities could choose to impose that would be paid by the retailer.

Will a criminal history stop me from getting licensed?

According to OLCC’s Tom Towslee, the legislature will hammer out the final language around criminal backgrounds as it relates to marijuana distribution in July.

However, state officials have already determined there are already some offenses that that won’t prevent you from getting a license:

  • Manufacture of marijuana: If this conviction came more than five years prior to the application for licensing, and you haven’t been convicted since for the same charge, and/or the delivery of marijuana, you cannot be denied based on criminal history.
  • Delivery of marijuana: If you were over the age of 21 or the offense is more than five years prior to the application date, you will not be denied on this basis.
  • Possession: You will not be denied licensing for possession convictions.

What would it take for me to lose my license?

Any violation of Measure 91 can and will result in the loss of licensing.  If you lose your license you are welcome to reapply for certification.

Can medical marijuana dispensaries sell for non card-holders?

As of this writing, no. Some owners of medical marijuana dispensaries have however banded together with hopes of creating a bill to be considered in the legislature that would allow their stores to sell a limited amount of marijuana products for recreational usage. If said proposal passes, the more than 200 medical marijuana dispensaries in Oregon will all have the option of retailing medical marijuana while shops that are strictly recreational would need to attain licensing in order to distribute cannabis for medicinal purposes.

Carpentry Professionals
Uber Pillow Drive
Calendar

Photo Gallery

Photos and slide shows of local events

Artists Rep Caught