04 24 2014
  6:49 pm  
     •     
McMenamins

In the vein of Jonathan Lethem, Chuck Palahniuk and Don DeLillo, author Paul Auster combines rich metaphors and cinematic prose to tell an extraordinary story of love, loss and the possibility of redemption in his new novel, "The Brooklyn Follies" (Henry Holt and Co., $24). Divorced, retired and estranged from his only daughter, former life insurance salesman Nathan Glass has come to Brooklyn seeking solitude and anonymity. But before long, he encounters his long-lost nephew, Tom Wood, who is working in a local bookstore. Through Tom and Harry Brightman, Wood's colorful and charismatic boss, Nathan's world gradually broadens to include a new set of acquaintances, along with a stray relative or two who bring him face-to-face with his past. True to form, Auster takes readers through surprise twists and turns in his book, including a forgery of the first page of "The Scarlet Letter," the revelation that Tom's boss Harry is an ex-con and a disturbing epiphany at a sperm bank. In the end, Nathan's despair at his own life is swept away as he finds himself more and more implicated in the joys and sorrows of others.

Commenting Guidelines

  • Keep it clean: Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually oriented language
  • No personal attacks: We reserve the right to remove offensive comments
  • Be truthful: Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything
  • Be nice: No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person
  • Help us: If you see an abusive post, let us know at info@theskanner.com
  • Keep to topic: We will remove irrelevant posts and spam
  • Share with us: We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts; the history behind an article

Recently Published by The Skanner News

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random
load morehold SHIFT key to load allload all
Carpentry Professionals
THIS SITE WORKS BEST ON GOOGLE CHROME

PHOTO GALLERY

Calendar

About Us

Hood to Coast
Breaking News

The Skanner TV

Turn the pages

QR Code
 

Your Health