07 01 2016
  3:37 pm  
     •     
read latest

breaking news

McMenamins

In the vein of Jonathan Lethem, Chuck Palahniuk and Don DeLillo, author Paul Auster combines rich metaphors and cinematic prose to tell an extraordinary story of love, loss and the possibility of redemption in his new novel, "The Brooklyn Follies" (Henry Holt and Co., $24). Divorced, retired and estranged from his only daughter, former life insurance salesman Nathan Glass has come to Brooklyn seeking solitude and anonymity. But before long, he encounters his long-lost nephew, Tom Wood, who is working in a local bookstore. Through Tom and Harry Brightman, Wood's colorful and charismatic boss, Nathan's world gradually broadens to include a new set of acquaintances, along with a stray relative or two who bring him face-to-face with his past. True to form, Auster takes readers through surprise twists and turns in his book, including a forgery of the first page of "The Scarlet Letter," the revelation that Tom's boss Harry is an ex-con and a disturbing epiphany at a sperm bank. In the end, Nathan's despair at his own life is swept away as he finds himself more and more implicated in the joys and sorrows of others.

Recently Published by The Skanner News

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random
load morehold SHIFT key to load allload all
Calendar

PHOTO GALLERY

Oregon Shakespeare Festival The Wiz
Wake of Vanport Workshop

Hood to Coast 2016